Wilson County Specialty License Plate Campaign

$37.00

Wilson County Specialty License Plate is a great way to support Wilson County Tennessee. Specialty license plates are now available for pre-order for Tennessee drivers. Tennessee state law requires a minimum of 1,000 pre-orders by June 30, 2022 before the plates to go into production. So, now is the time to order yours!

Note: This product is $37 if paid by Credit Card (Stripe) or Venmo, and $35 if paid by Check.

SKU: WCSLP Category:

Description

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost? 
The cost to pre-order a plate is $35. A portion of the proceeds from each plate goes to Wilson Rides Inc. The annual fee for a specialty license plate in Tennessee is currently $61.50 (versus the standard plate fee of $26.50). A portion of each yearly specialty plate fee will also go to Wilson Rides Inc. So, when you have a Wilson County Specialty License Plate, you’re making wishes come true year after year!

How can I order a customized Wilson County plate?

To place your order online, go to https://wilsonridesinc.org/product/license-plate/ .

To order by phone, call Gaye Lynn Wilson, Executive Director, at (615) 622-5557.You can place your order by mail.  Send your check for $35 to Wilson Rides Inc along with your full name, mailing address, and county.  Please include an email or phone number.  Mail to:

Wilson Rides Inc
1616 W. Main Street, Suite 300
Lebanon, TN 37087

What do I need to do after I submit the order/payment form? 

Not a thing! Once you submit your information and payment, you’re all set. When the minimum number of orders are placed, you’ll receive a letter from the State of Tennessee at the address you provided. That will let you know your plate is at your county office for pickup. If the pre-order threshold is not met by June 30, 2021, you will be notified via email and your payment will become a donation to Wilson Rides Inc or will be returned to you.

What does the $35 purchase of this plate benefit?

Minus a small production cost to produce the plates, 50% of the fee is allocated to the non-profit Wilson Rides Inc, 40% to the TN Arts Commission, and 10% to the TN Highway fund.  The fee is tax-deductible.

If Wilson County license plates benefit a non-profit organization, how much of my $35.00 plate fee is tax deductible?

Minus a small production cost to produce the plates, 50% of the fee is allocated to the non-profit Wilson Rides Inc, 40% to the TN Arts Commission, and 10% to the TN Highway fund.  The fee is tax-deductible.

May I personalize my plate?

Specific numbered or personalized plates are not available for the pre-sale of 1000 plates.  You will have that option on the next renewal of your specialty plate.

Can I order a specific numbered plate?

Specific numbered or personalized plates are not available for the pre-sale of 1000 plates.  You will have that option on the next renewal of your specialty plate.

What if 1,000 people don’t pre-order a Wilson County Specialty License Plate?  While we’re working hard to ensure we reach the minimum required pre-orders, if the minimum isn’t reached, you will receive an email letting you know and you may elect to donate your tax-deductible $35 pre-payment to Wilson Rides Inc; or your payment will be returned to you by mail.

How do I order my plate after the 1,000-preorder period has ended?

If the plates go into production by achieving 1000 pre-orders, you may purchase the plate at your local county clerk’s office at your renewal.

Can I choose my plate number in the second year of production?

Specific numbered or personalized plates are not available for the pre-sale of 1000 plates.  You will have that option on the next renewal of your specialty plate.

When do I receive my plate?

Wilson Rides Inc is taking pre-orders for the Wilson County specialty license plates through June 30, 2022.  The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.

Who designed the plate?

Wilson County “The Place to Be” license plate was designed by an artist who graduated from Wilson Central High School, graduated from MTSO, and returned to Watertown, TN to work in the field of art design.

My plate hasn’t expired yet; may I still pre-order a plate?

Yes, please place your order today! The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.  When you pick up your plate, you will receive a credit for the remaining days of your term unless your tags are due to expire within 30 days.  Your new tags will expire 1 year from the date you are issued your specialty license plate.

What happens if my current plate registration expires before my new plate arrives

Please place your order today! Follow your normal renewal process. The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.  When you pick up your plate, you will receive a credit for the remaining days of your term unless your tags are due to expire within 30 days.  Your new tags will expire 1 year from the date you are issued your specialty license plate.

Do I have to renew my registration to pre-order a plate?

Please place your order today! The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.  When you pick up your plate, you will receive a credit for the remaining days of your term unless your tags are due to expire within 30 days.  Your new tags will expire 1 year from the date you are issued your specialty license plate.

What if I just renewed my plate?

Please place your order today! The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.  When you pick up your plate, you will receive a credit for the remaining days of your term unless your tags are due to expire within 30 days.  Your new tags will expire 1 year from the date you are issued your specialty license plate.

What if I already own a different specialty plate?

If you own more than one vehicle, you may want to order this specialty license plate.  Registration applies to a single vehicle.

Is shipping included in the $35 fee?

There is no additional shipping fee.  The TN Department of Revenue will mail letters to let customers know when their assigned plates will be in their local county clerk’s office.   

What happens to my existing license plate?

Your existing license plate will be no longer be registered to a vehicle, and you can keep it.

Is there a limit to the number of plates I can order?

The specialty plate is available for vehicles registered in TN excluding commercial vehicles.  If you own more than one vehicle, you may want to order this specialty license plate for each vehicle.  Registration applies to a single vehicle.

If have more than one car, do I need to fill out the form separately for each plate I want to purchase? 

Yes. If there are multiple drivers in your household that will be ordering a plate, you will fill out the form once for each driver. The “Your Information” section should include the name and contact information for the vehicle registrant. For example, if you are purchasing 3 plates for 3 separate family members, but the title of all 3 vehicles is under the same name, you will fill out the form 3 times with the same information.

Is this the final design of the plate?

Yes, this plate design was approved by the Wilson County Commission and accepted by the TN legislature.  Wilson County “The Place to Be” license plate was designed by an artist who graduated from Wilson Central High School, graduated from MTSO, and returned to Watertown, TN to work in the field of art design.

I live outside of Tennessee, may I still pre-order a plate?

You must be a resident of Tennessee to purchase a Wilson County specialty license plate.